The SFWP Literary Awards Program

7 September 2007

The SFWP Literary Awards Program is back and better than ever with Pulitzer Prize winning author Robert Olen Butler on board as judge!

Featuring the largest cash prizes in the history of our program, the winner and two runners-up will receive:
1st prize: $2,500
2nd prize: $1,500
3rd prize: $1,000


The SFWP Literary Awards Program

This year’s judge, Robert Olen Butler, will select authors who represent excellence in writing. Mr. Butler will judge prose fiction and non-fiction of any genre. We will not be accepting poetry, plays or screenplays.

All entrants will receive consideration for publication through SFWP press. Read more about our publishing department at

The Program has already begun and will run through December 31st, 2007. Any entries post-marked later than December 31st will not be accepted. Review and judging will begin on January 15th 2008.

The program is open to all authors except for those previously published by a major house (Random House, Viking, etc. See our FAQ page for further details.). Your entry will be reviewed by our staff for eligibility, and you will be contacted and refunded if you are not eligible. Due to the length of the awards
program, we do allow authors to shop their work around.

Please take a moment to review the guidelines below. If you have questions or comments, visit our site at or contact us at

Each entry should be no more than 25 pages in length. This can include any number of related short stories or essays, the first 25 pages of a longer work, or relevant excerpts or chapters from a work — however you feel your writing is best represented. All entries should be 12-point font and single sided. There is no minimum word or page count. Please number your pages. Multiple entries will be accepted.

Entries must include a copy of the Entry Form.

A $30 reading fee must accompany each submission. We can accept a check or money order in US funds, made payable to “Santa Fe Writers Project.” This fee is non-refundable after the awards have been granted. All decisions made by the judge are final.

Credit card payment for the reading fee will be accepted via PayPal (access through our entry form on the website).

If you are a student, the reading fee is $25. To receive this discount, please include a photocopy of a current student ID or similar proof of enrollment. Please include two self-addressed stamped envelopes so we can notify you of receipt and of the results.

SFWP will not keep submissions on file or use them for any purpose without the permission of the respective authors. We do not share personal contact information with any individual, organization or marketing agency. SFWP claims no control over your work. There are no stipulations if you are selected for the 2007 Awards. Participation in any SFWP-related activity is voluntary.

We will not be able to return manuscripts. Please keep a copy of your work. The contest is open to international submissions. The reading fee can be sent as an international mail order, a check drawn from a US account or via

Entries may include a synopsis, outline or introductory letter. These will not be counted towards your overall page limit. Entries will be blinded. Do not send personal correspondence to the Judge.

You may participate in other contests and programs as well as pursue publication during the SFWP 2007 Awards Cycle. There will be no penalties if your work wins another award or is published before the judging begins. The SFWP Publishing division will review all entries for possible publication. They are not obligated to select any of the winners for publication, nor are any applicants obligated to work with the Publishing division. Winners will also be featured on our online literary journal at

Remember: All entries must be accompanied by a $30 reading fee ($25 for students). Send your entry, your entry form and the fee to:

Santa Fe Writers Project
369 Montezuma Ave
Santa Fe, NM 87501

SFWP’s program began in 2000 and has been judged by National Book Critics Circle Award-winner Jayne Anne Phillips, two-time NEA fellow and Hemingway Award finalist Richard Currey, Granta “best novelist under 40” and Guggenheim fellow Chris Offutt, and popular essayist Ayun Halliday. For more on the history of SFWP’s Literary Awards
Program, please visit “Winning the Grand Prize for the Santa Fe Writers Project Literary Awards Program launched the best year of my professional life. SFWP is a first class organization, one that actually uses its program to promote writers.” K.L. Cook, author of Last Call and The Girl from Charnelle

%d bloggers like this: