Montana Prizes, Goedicke Prize

10 January 2008

CutBank is pleased to announce the Montana Prize in Fiction, the Montana Prize in Creative Nonfiction, and the Patricia Goedicke Prize in Poetry.

We are honored to have three talented judges participating in the inaugural year of these contests. The Patricia Goedicke Prize in Poetry will be judged by Michele Glazer. Aimee Bender will select the winner of the Montana Prize in Fiction. The winner of the Montana Prize in Creative Nonfiction will be selected by Suzanne Paola. See bios for each of our judges at

Submissions are accepted December 1 through February 29. Winners receive $500 and publication in CutBank 69. All submissions will be considered for publication in CutBank.

The contests’ $13 entry fee includes a one-year, two-issue subscription to CutBank, beginning with the prize issue, CutBank 69.

Please send only your best work. With all three of these awards, we are seeking to highlight work that showcases an authentic voice, a boldness of form, and a rejection of functional fixedness.

Full guidelines available at


By the by, I apologize if any of you are receiving this email for the second time. I sent a similar one a couple weeks ago, but it appears quirks in the email software prevented it from reaching a good number of its intended recipients. Thanks again and happy holidays!

Brian Kevin

Managing Editor
CutBank Literary Magazine
University of Montana

%d bloggers like this: