51st annual Joseph Henry Jackson Award, 71st annual James Duval Phelan Award, and 18th annual Mary Tanenbaum Award

19 March 2008

These three prestigious awards are offered annually to promising young writers between the ages of 20 and 35 who either were born in California or now reside in Northern California or Nevada. There is no entry fee to submit a manuscript for consideration, and there are two awards of $2,000.00 each and one award of $3,000.00. Several award-winners in recent years have secured publishing deals with major publishing houses such as St. Martin’s Press, Simon & Schuster, Random House, and Knopf as a result of these awards. Former award recipients include Philip Levine, Ernest J. Gaines, Al Young, Michael Palmer, Frank Chin, Jane Hirschfield, Lyn Hejinian, David St. John, Dagoberto Gilb, and Sallie Tisdale. Deadline for submission is a postmark deadline by March 31, 2008.

The awards are sponsored annually by the San Francisco Foundation and administered by Intersection for the Arts. Submission guidelines and applications can be found at the Intersection for the Arts website, www.theintersection.org/resource_awards.php.

%d bloggers like this: