Pat Parnell Poetry Contest

28 September 2008

The Department of Writing and Literature at Chester College of New England is pleased to offer the sixth Pat Parnell Poetry Prize. Named after the founder of COMPASS ROSE, Professor Patricia Parnell, the contest is designed to bring work of the finest quality to the pages of our magazine.

Each year, the winner of the contest receives $400 and publication in COMPASS ROSE. All other entries will be considered for publication. The contest fee is $5 per poem with a limit of 5 poems per entry. We can accept only U.S. currency.

COMPASS ROSE is pleased to announce poet Ilya Kaminsky will judge the 2008-2009 Pat Parnell Poetry Contest. Kaminsky was born in Odessa, former Soviet Union in 1977, and arrived to the United States in 1993, when his family was granted asylum by the American government. Ilya is the author of Dancing In Odessa (Tupelo Press, 2004), which won the Whiting Writer’s Award, the American Academy of Arts and Letters’ Metcalf Award, the Dorset Prize, the Ruth Lilly Fellowship given annually by Poetry magazine. Dancing In Odessa was also named Best Poetry Book of the Year 2004 by ForeWord Magazine.

To learn more about Kaminsky, please visit his website at

Please submit no more than five (5) poems between August 1 and November 15, 2008. The contest fee is $5 for each poem ($10 for two poems, $15 for three poems and so on). Please do not put any personal information on the poems themselves; instead enclose a cover letter with your name, titles of your work, and contact information. All entries are read blind. Poems that include personal information will not be read and fees will not be refunded. No email submissions or previously published work will be accepted. Please send all submissions via postal mail to:

Pat Parnell Poetry Contest
c/o Prof. Jenn Monroe
Chester College of New England
40 Chester Street
Chester, NH 03036

We will not accept email submissions, but are happy to answer questions that way. Contact
us at
Relatives, friends, and colleagues of the judge are not eligible.

%d bloggers like this: