Archive for April 23rd, 2009

The Bard Fiction Prize (39 and younger only)

23 April 2009

The Bard Fiction Prize is awarded to a promising, emerging writer who is an American citizen aged 39 years or younger at the time of application. In addition to the monetary award, the winner receives an appointment as writer in residence at Bard College for one semester, without the expectation that he or she teach traditional courses. The recipient gives at least one public lecture and meets informally with students.

The creation of the Bard Fiction Prize, presented each October, continues Bard’s long-standing position as a center for creative, groundbreaking literary work by both faculty and students. From Saul Bellow, William Gaddis, Mary McCarthy, and Ralph Ellison to John Ashbery, Philip Roth, William Weaver, and Chinua Achebe, Bard’s literature faculty, past and present, represents some of the most important American writers of our time. The prize is intended to encourage and support young writers of fiction to pursue their creative goals and provide an opportunity to work in a fertile and intellectual environment.

Bard College invites submissions for its annual Fiction Prize for Young Writers.

To apply, candidates should write a cover letter explaining the project they plan to work on while at Bard and submit a C.V., along with three copies of the published book they feel best represents their work. No manuscripts will be accepted. Applications for the 2010 prize must be received by July 15, 2009.

Arroyo Literary Review Call for Submissions

23 April 2009

Arroyo Literary Review seeks poetry and fiction for our second issue. We welcome submissions between January 15, 2009 and May 31, 2009.

Submissions should be sent by mail to:

Arroyo Literary Review
Department of English – MB 2579
California State University, East Bay
25800 Carlos Bee Blvd.
Hayward, CA 94542

Please include SASE. Simultaneous submissions are acceptable, though notify us immediately should your work be accepted elsewhere. We only consider previously unpublished work. Contributors will receive two copies of the issue in which their work appears.

Further questions may be directed to:

Howard Frank Mosher Prize in Short Fiction

23 April 2009

The sixth annual Howard Frank Mosher Prize in Short Fiction awards one $1,000.00 prize and two honorable mentions. The first prize winner also receives publication in Hunger Mountain, the VCFA Journal of the Arts. 15 finalists receive a signed Stinehour Press Award Series Broadside.

JUDGE: Andre Dubus, III
DEADLINE: Postmarked by June 30, 2009

ENTRY FEE: $20.00

– $20 entry fee, payable to “Hunger Mountain”
– Submit one short story, not to exceed 10,000 words
– Name or address should not appear anywhere in the text, nor anywhere on the manuscript
– Story must be original, written in English, and previously unpublished
– Entries must be typed, double-spaced, and one-side-only
– Enclose a standard index card with short story title, name, address, phone number and E-mail address
– Enclose a SASE for notification of winners
– Enclose a postage-paid postcard for acknowledgement of entry receipt (optional)
– Entries must be postmarked by June 30, 2009
– Multiple entries allowed—each entry must be sent separately and include a separate entry fee
– No simultaneous submissions, artwork, or translations
– One submitted, entries cannot be altered
– Electronic or faxed entries will not be accepted
– Late entries will not be read
– No entries will be returned
– All entries will be considered for publication
– E-mail if questions arise.


Howard Frank Mosher Short Fiction Prize
Hunger Mountain
Vermont College
36 College Street
Montpelier, VT 05602

Winners announced Fall 2009

Santa Barbara Writers Conference Contests

23 April 2009

The Santa Barbara Writers Conference announces its first annual Writing Contest in Fiction, Nonfiction and Poetry. Winners in each category will receive a scholarship for tuition to the 2010 Santa Barbara Writers Conference and a grand prize winner will get a scholarship and the opportunity to have lunch with a top agent during the conference.

Fiction entries can be in any genre. Nonfiction can be essay, article or memoir. Fiction and nonfiction entries must be no more than 3,000 words. Poets may submit up to five poems, no more than 15 pages total. Each category will be judged by a team of SBWC workshop leaders and the winners will be chosen from among the finalists by a noted author. You can enter as many times as you like in all the categories. If these guidelines aren’t followed, your entry will be disqualified. The cost is $25 per entry, and the deadline is June 1. The winners will be announced July 20 and celebrated at a special event later this summer.

For fiction and nonfiction, include a cover sheet with author’s name, address, phone number, email address and the title of the submission. For poetry, please include a cover letter with author’s name, contact information and the titles of all the poems submitted. Stories, articles and poems should have no identifying information on them except titles.

Submission deadline June 1

Mail entries along with a check payable to SBWC to:

SBWC Writing Contest,
P.O. Box 6627
Santa Barbara, CA 93160

Teresa A. White Literary Award

23 April 2009

Quiddity international literary journal and public-radio program ( is pleased to announce the Teresa A. White Literary Award. The 2009 award is affectionately referred to as the “buck-a-word” contest.

First Prize: $500 and publication in the Spring/Summer 2010 print issue of Quiddity as well as broadcast feature in Quiddity’s public-radio program (via WUIS, NPR member and PRI affiliate)
Honorable mentions may also be offered publication and broadcast.

Contest begins March 1, 2009, and ends August 1, 2009 (postmark deadline).

* Submit one work of prose totaling no more than 500 words (title included) as well as $12 payable to Quiddity.
* U.S. submissions should include both an email address and a self-addressed, business-size (#10), stamped envelope (SASE). International submissions should include an email address to which an electronic reply may be sent.
* Work should be previously unpublished; simultaneous submissions with immediate notification are okay, but the contest awards only for FNASR, so works accepted elsewhere will be withdrawn from consideration, and please note: the entry fee will not be returned.
* All entries must be typed and must include a cover letter with author’s name and contact information (address, telephone, and email address) as well as the title and word count of the work submitted. The author’s name or any identifying information should not appear on the manuscript itself.
* Entries that do not meet the guidelines will not be considered, and entry fees are not refundable.
* All contest submissions will be considered for regular inclusion in the journal.
* Winners will be announced by September 1, 2009.
* Mail entries to
2009 Teresa A. White Literary Award
1500 North Fifth Street
Springfield, Illinois 62702