Tamarack Award

7 June 2009


Minnesota Monthly is now accepting submissions for the 2009 Tamarack Award, the magazine’s annual fiction contest. Entries will be accepted through July 1, 2009. The winning story will appear in the November 2009 issue.

The competition is open to residents of Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa, Wisconsin, and Michigan. Proof of eligibility will be required of the winning entrant. Note: previous Tamarack winners are not eligible to enter the contest again for five years. Other previous winners are eligible. As always, however, employees of Minnesota Public Radio and its affiliated companies are not eligible.


Maximum length: 4,000 words. Must be an original, unpublished work of short fiction. Send two clean copies of your entry. Manuscripts must be typed and double-spaced, with pages numbered. Judging is anonymous; please do not put your name anywhere on your manuscript. Include two copies of a cover sheet with the following information: your name, address, day/evening phone numbers, and e-mail address, along with the title of your entry and its word count.

There is no entry fee. Because of the volume of submissions, the editors are unable to contact entrants individually regarding the outcome of the competition.

Mail your entry to:
2008 Tamarack Award
Minnesota Monthly
600 U.S. Trust Building
730 S. Second Ave.
Minneapolis, MN 55402

No e-mail submissions will be accepted.

The author of the winning manuscript will, upon signing Minnesota Monthly’s standard publication contract, be published in the November 2009 issue. Minnesota Public Radio will reserve the right to broadcast a reading of the winning story.

%d bloggers like this: