Archive for June 22nd, 2009

The Morton Marr Poetry Prize

22 June 2009

The Morton Marr Poetry Prize is an endowment by Marilyn Klepak of Dallas in honor of her father, whose love of poetry has encouraged her to pass this love on to others. Generous supplemental donations were also provided by Mr. and Mrs. David T. Searls, Jr. The first prize is $1,000 and the second place prize is $500. Both prizes earn publication in Southwest Review pages. Judging for 2008 was Charles Martin. To see the 2008 winners, click here.

RULES: This contest is open to writers who have not yet published a first book of poetry. Contestants may submit no more than six, previously unpublished poems in a “traditional” form (e.g. sonnet, sestina, villanelle, rhymed stanzas, blank verse, etc.). Poems should be printed blank with name and address information only on a cover sheet or letter. (If work is submitted online, please omit the author’s name from the final “submission content text area”). There is a $5.00 per poem entry/handling fee. Postmarked deadline for entry is September 30, 2009. Submissions will not be returned. For notification of winning poems, include a SASE. Winners will be announced in December. Entries should be addressed to: The Morton Marr Poetry Prize, Southwest Review, P.O. Box 750374, Dallas, TX 75275-0374.

For instructions on entering this contest via e-mail, visit

UNT Press 2010 Katherine Anne Porter Prize in Short Fiction

22 June 2009

The University of North Texas Press announces the 2010 Katherine Anne Porter Prize in Short Fiction.

The winner of this annual award will receive $1000 and publication by UNT Press. Entries will be judged by an eminent writer.

Entries can be a combination of short-shorts, short stories, and novellas, from 100 to 200 book pages in length (word count between 27,500 and 50,000). Material should be previously unpublished in book form. Once a winner is declared and contracted for publication, UNT Press will hold the rights to the stories in the winning collection. They may no longer be under consideration for serial publication elsewhere and must be withdrawn by the author from consideration.

Please include two cover sheets: one with title only, and one with title, your name, address, e-mail, phone, and acknowledgment of any previously published material. Your name should not appear anywhere on the manuscript except on the one cover page. Manuscripts for the 2010 award should be postmarked between May 1 and June 30, 2009. The winning manuscript will be announced in January 2010. Watch for more details in Poets & Writers.

Manuscripts cannot be returned and must be accompanied by a $25 entry fee (payable to UNT Press) and a letter-sized SASE for notification.

Send entries to:

Laura Kopchick, General Editor
Katherine Anne Porter Contest
English Department
University of Texas at Arlington
203 Carlisle Hall, Box 19035
Arlington, TX 76019

2009 Moment-Karma Short Fiction Contest

22 June 2009

Moment Magazine is now accepting submissions for the 2009 Moment-Karma Short Fiction Contest. Moment will award three prizes to outstanding works of unpublished short fiction with Jewish content.

$1,000 plus possible publication
$500 plus possible publication
$250 plus possible publication

Winners may be invited to Washington DC or New York City for an awards ceremony. If so, the contest covers a round trip flight or train fare and one night hotel, if necessary. All travel arrangements are to be made by Moment.

The judge published in promotional materials judges the finalists. At all times, all decisions are final.

After the completion of the contest, Moment editors will review winning stories. Editors will contact winners if their stories are being considered for publication. Moment Magazine reserves the right at all times to select material for publishing. All selected material is subject to editing by Moment editors.

Entry Fees:
$15 for each entry (multiple submissions are accepted).
Please make checks payable to: Moment-Karma Short Fiction Contest.
Note: The $15 is a reader fee and does not in any way give persons who enter the contest any legal rights.

Submissions must be postmarked by December 1, 2009.
For each entry, submit the following:
A cover letter containing author’s full name, address, contact information and the title of submission.
The author’s name must not appear anywhere on the manuscript.
A check made out to The Moment/Karma Short Fiction Contest.
A self-addressed stamped envelope for announcement of winners.
Do not send submissions via email
Maximum length for prose is 7,000 words. Send hard copies of your submission printed out in 12-point font, double-spaced.

No previously published works, or works already accepted for publication elsewhere, are eligible. Work may be under consideration elsewhere, but must be withdrawn from the competition if accepted for publication.
Send entries to:
Moment-Karma Short Fiction Contest
Moment Magazine
4115 Wisconsin Avenue, NW
Suite 102
Washington, DC 20016

Winners will be announced in 2010.

Current information about guidelines etc. is updated here on the website. We are not responsible for information in previous guidelines or advertisements.

All deadlines may be extended or changed and may carry over into the next calendar year.

Moment Magazine and Karma Foundation are not liable for any misprints or errors, or anything else.

The contest is a labor of love. Please treat our staff with courtesy and kindness.

2009 Betty Gabehart Prize

22 June 2009

Download entry fee at

Each year the Kentucky Women Writers Conference offers opportunities for both emerging and established voices to be singled out and cheered on by our community. The Betty Gabehart Prize honors our good friend, patron, and former director who led the conference during its seminal decade in the 1980s.

One winner will be chosen in each of three genres: poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction. Winners receive:
• $100
• two 2-day passes for herself and one guest
• the opportunity to read her winning manuscript during the conference on September 11–12, 2009
• publication of the winning manuscript on our Web site:

• Please do not apply if you have won this award in the past five years (2004 or later).
• Works that are previously published are not eligible for this award.
• The contest is open to any female writer of English.
• Employees or board members of the Kentucky Women Writers Conference are not eligible.

Manuscript Format
• Fiction and nonfiction should be no more than 6,000 words in length; poems have no word limit.
• Please submit two copies of the manuscript (there will be two judges per genre category).
• The author’s name or address must not appear anywhere on the manuscript.
• The manuscript must be on standard white paper, single-sided.
• Paginate correctly.

Submission Information
• Each work entered must be accompanied by its own entry form and entry fee, as follows: $10 per poem, or $15 per work of fiction or nonfiction, payable to Kentucky Women Writers Conference. You may write a single check for
multiple entries.
• Submission of more than one work is permissible; each must be accompanied by its own entry form and fee. If
multiple works are entered with a single entry fee, only the first work will be accepted.
• Manuscripts must be postmarked by July 31, 2009.
• Please include a self-addressed, stamped postcard if you would like notification that the manuscript has been received. We cannot return manuscripts.
• Contest results will be posted on our website on August 28, 2009. Winners will be notified immediately.

Please send entries to:
Betty Gabehart Prize
Kentucky Women Writers Conference
University of Kentucky
232 East Maxwell Street
Lexington, KY 40506-0344
Direct inquiries to: