2009 Betty Gabehart Prize

22 June 2009

Download entry fee at www.uky.edu/WWK/Gabehart_Prize_Entry_Form_2009.pdf

Each year the Kentucky Women Writers Conference offers opportunities for both emerging and established voices to be singled out and cheered on by our community. The Betty Gabehart Prize honors our good friend, patron, and former director who led the conference during its seminal decade in the 1980s.

One winner will be chosen in each of three genres: poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction. Winners receive:
• $100
• two 2-day passes for herself and one guest
• the opportunity to read her winning manuscript during the conference on September 11–12, 2009
• publication of the winning manuscript on our Web site: www.thewomenwritersconference.org

• Please do not apply if you have won this award in the past five years (2004 or later).
• Works that are previously published are not eligible for this award.
• The contest is open to any female writer of English.
• Employees or board members of the Kentucky Women Writers Conference are not eligible.

Manuscript Format
• Fiction and nonfiction should be no more than 6,000 words in length; poems have no word limit.
• Please submit two copies of the manuscript (there will be two judges per genre category).
• The author’s name or address must not appear anywhere on the manuscript.
• The manuscript must be on standard white paper, single-sided.
• Paginate correctly.

Submission Information
• Each work entered must be accompanied by its own entry form and entry fee, as follows: $10 per poem, or $15 per work of fiction or nonfiction, payable to Kentucky Women Writers Conference. You may write a single check for
multiple entries.
• Submission of more than one work is permissible; each must be accompanied by its own entry form and fee. If
multiple works are entered with a single entry fee, only the first work will be accepted.
• Manuscripts must be postmarked by July 31, 2009.
• Please include a self-addressed, stamped postcard if you would like notification that the manuscript has been received. We cannot return manuscripts.
• Contest results will be posted on our website on August 28, 2009. Winners will be notified immediately.

Please send entries to:
Betty Gabehart Prize
Kentucky Women Writers Conference
University of Kentucky
232 East Maxwell Street
Lexington, KY 40506-0344
Direct inquiries to: wwk.info@gmail.com

%d bloggers like this: