Iron Horse Literary Review single-author issue competition

4 December 2009

Iron Horse Literary Review is hosting a collection competition judged by Mark Richard. Richard is the author of two novels, Fishboy and When Truth Gives Out, and two award-winning short story collections, Charity and The Ice at the Bottom of the World. His short stories have appeared in The New Yorker, Harper’s, Esquire, GQ, The Paris Review, The Oxford American, Shenandoah, and The Quarterly.

The winning collection will be published in 2010 as a separate issue. Full-color cover art will reflect the collection’s content and emphasize the title so the published collection will look like the single-author book that it is. The winner will also receive a $1,000

• Manuscripts must be typed, double-spaced, with one-inch margins, 12-point font.
• Entries must be between 15,000 and 20,000 words (50 to 65 pages).
• While one or two of the stories/essays may have been published elsewhere, the majority of the collection must be previously unpublished.
• The author’s name and contact information must appear on a cover sheet, but it must NOT appear anywhere else on the manuscript.
• Entries must also include an email address for results notification.
• Pages must be numbered.
• Entries must include the $15 reading fee, which also purchases a one-year subscription to Iron Horse.
• Mail entries to:

Collection Competition
Iron Horse Literary Review
Texas Tech University
English Department
Mail Stop 43091
Lubbock, TX 79409-3091

• Postmark deadline for entries is Feb. 15, 2010.

%d bloggers like this: