Archive for April 1st, 2010

Announcing Fugue’s Ninth Annual Prose & Poetry Contest!

1 April 2010

First place winners receive $1000 and publication. Second and Third place winners receive publication. Check back August 4, 2010 for announcement of the winners.

Junot Díaz (fiction) and Ilya Kaminsky (poetry)

To enter:
1.Submissions may be sent via email only to fugue-prosesubmitATuidahoDOTedu or fugue-poetrysubmitATuidahoDOTedu. For each submission, please paste your name, contact information, and a short bio along with your work into the body of your email AND as an attachment. If you only send an attachment, we will not consider your work and you’ll receive a note saying as much. The genre you are submitting for (Fiction or Poetry) and the word “contest” should be typed in the subject line.

2.A $20 reading fee payment must accompany your submission and be made online, which guarantees consideration and a one-year subscription to the journal. Click here to pay for contest submissions.

3.Submissions must be e-mailed by May 1, 2010.

4.Story submissions should not exceed 10,000 words in length.

5.Poetry submissions should not exceed 3 poems or 5 pages.

Congratulations to the winners of Fugue’s Eighth Annual Prose & Poetry Contest!
Patricia Hampl, our fiction judge, and BH Fairchild, our poetry judge, have awarded the prizes to the following pieces:

1st place: Iraj Isaac Rahmim, “How I Came to be an American.”
2nd Place: Annie Nilsson, “For Milk, For God’s Sake.”

1st place: Danica Colic, “A Note Left on the Counter”
2nd place: Sarah Barber, “White Live Doves for Funerals”

Unfortunately, due to our policy of accepting simultaneous submissions, we lost our third place finishers without the time to name new winners. We ask our participants to make every effort to notify us immediately should your work
no longer be available.

Visit the website:


The Journal’s Annual Short Story Contest

1 April 2010

Contest Guidelines:
The Journal, the literary magazine of The Ohio State University, would like to announce the sixth annual Journal Short Story Contest.

This year’s judge is Lee K. Abbott, author of the short story collections Dreams of Distant Lives, Strangers in Paradise, Love is the Crooked Thing, The Heart Never Fits Its Wanting, and Living After Midnight. His latest collection of stories, All Things, All at Once, was published by Norton in Spring 2006.

The Journal Short Story Contest offers $1000 and publication of the winning story in The Journal’s Autumn/Winter issue. All styles, subject matter, and forms are welcome. Simultaneous submissions are accepted provided immediate notice is given if work is accepted elsewhere. Please submit only previously unpublished fiction up to 7500 words. All manuscripts will be considered for publication.

Deadline for postmark of manuscripts is May 1st.
A reading fee of $10 must accompany each manuscript (please make checks payable to The Journal).
Manuscripts should be submitted anonymously with the title of the work and all contact information listed on a separate cover letter. Please be sure to also list your title on the manuscript itself. Manuscripts will not be returned. Please number pages and double-space all entries.
Notification will be in late October.

Send previously unpublished story along with reading fee to:
Short Story Contest
The Journal
Department of English
The Ohio State University
164 West 17th Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210

Visit website:

Sonora Review Short Essay Contest

1 April 2010

Short Short Contest:

A prize of $1,000 and publication in Sonora Review is given annually for a short short story. Joe Wenderoth will judge. Submit a story of up to 1,000 words with a $15 entry fee, which includes a copy of the Summer 2010 issue of Sonora Review, by May 1. Include a cover page with your full name and current address.

Short Essay Contest:

$1000 and publication in Sonora Review will be given for the first annual Concentrated Nonfiction Contest. The inaugural contest will be judged by Ander Monson. Submit a work of unpublished nonfiction, up to 1,000 words, by June 1st. Entry fee is $15, which includes a copy of the Summer 2010 issue of Sonora Review. Include a cover letter with full name, title of work, mailing and email address. The author’s name should not appear anywhere on the manuscript.

By “concentrated nonfiction” we mean a short essay of any variety under 1000 words, not limited to any specific type of essay. In fact, we encourage creativity that projects the malleability of the form. We also are willing to publish multimedia essays as long as the main force of the essay is through language (and it is short).

Submit Online Through Submishmash. Click Here.

Simply click on the type of contest you’d like to submit to, register, pay, and we’re all good to go.

Send Submissions To:

Sonora Review. Contest

Department of English, University of Arizona

Tucson, AZ 85721

Congratulations to Peter Jay Shippy, winner of our Winter poetry contest judged by Caroline Bergvall! Also, congratulations to the finalists Michael Tod Edgerton, Nadine Lockhart, and Matt Mauch.

Visit website:

2010 Stan and Tom Wick Poetry Prize

1 April 2010

2010 Stan and Tom Wick Poetry Prize
Judge: Maggie Anderson
$2,000 for a First Book of Poems
This prize is offered annually to a poet who has not previously published a full-length collection of poems. The winner receives $2000 and the winning volume will be published by the Kent State University Press in Fall 2010. The winner will give a reading with the 2010 judge of the competition on the Kent State campus.  In 2009, the winner was Visible Heavens by Joanna Solfrian, chosen by Naomi Shihab Nye.
Entry Requirements:

  • The competition is open to poets writing in English who have not yet published a full-length collection of poems (a volume of 50 or more pages published in an edition of 500 or more copies).
  • There is a $20 reading fee. Checks should be made payable to the Wick Poetry Center.
  • Submissions must consist of 50 to 70 pages of poetry, typed on one side only, with no more than one poem included on a page. Only clean, legible copies are acceptable.
  • The poet’s name is not to appear on the manuscript. Two title pages should be included. The first must include the poet’s name, address, e-mail, telephone number, and the title of the manuscript; the second should list the title of the manuscript only. Entries are judged anonymously.
  • The manuscript may be submitted simultaneously to other publishers, but the poet must notify the Wick Poetry Center immediately if the manuscript is accepted for publication elsewhere.
  • All manuscripts will be recycled after judging. For notice that the manuscript has been received, enclose a self-addressed, stamped postcard. For notice of the winning selection, enclose a self-addressed, stamped envelope. The winner will be announced late in the summer of 2010.
  • Manuscripts must be postmarked between February 1, 2010 and May 1, 2010. No late entries will be read.

Entries should be sent to: Stan and Tom Wick Poetry Prize, Wick Poetry Center, 301 Satterfield Hall, Kent State University, P.O. Box 5190, Kent, OH 44242-0001, (330)672-2067,
Visit http://