Archive for December 2nd, 2010

Montana Prize in Fiction, Montana Prize in Creative Nonfiction, Patricia Goedicke Prize in Poetry

2 December 2010

Montana Prize in Fiction, Montana Prize in Creative Nonfiction, Patricia Goedicke Prize in Poetry

Open December  1 – February 28

Go to for more information

CutBank is pleased to announce the 2011 Montana Prize in Fiction,  Montana Prize in Creative Nonfiction, and the Patricia Goedicke Prize in Poetry.
Submissions are accepted December 1, 2010 through February 28, 2011. Winners receive $500 and publication in CutBank 75. All submissions will be considered for publication in CutBank. The contests’ $17 entry fee includes a one-year, two-issue subscription to CutBank, beginning with the prize issue, CutBank 75.
Please send only your best work.  With all three of these awards, we are seeking to highlight work that showcases an authentic voice, a boldness of form, and a rejection of functional fixedness.

Submissions are accepted December 1 through February 28. Submissions are accepted through our online submission manager only. The $17 contest entry fee includes a one-year subscription to CutBank and covers the reading of a single submission in a single genre. Prose writers, please send only a single work of no greater than 40 pages. Poets may submit up to five poems. We cannot consider submissions that exceed these guidelines. Please submit only once per genre – writers are permitted to submit in multiple genres.
Please include a short cover letter that mentions your address, phone number, and email address, as well as the title of your work. Please include the author’s name on the manuscript—names will be removed from the pool of submissions that goes before our contest judges. Current subscribers may submit for the same $17 fee—subscriptions will be extended by one year. Simultaneous submissions are accepted, but please withdraw your submission via Submishmash immediately should it be accepted elsewhere. We are unable to offer refunds.

Entrants will be notified of their submission status no later than May 15, 2011. One winner in each genre, as chosen by our guest judges, will receive a $500 award and publication in CutBank 75, our summer 2011 issue. Winners will be required to complete a W-9 form to receive payment. All manuscripts are considered for publication in CutBank. All rights to selected manuscripts revert to the author upon publication. The author grants their permission to have their work electronically archived as part of CutBank 75 in EBSCO International’s subscription-based research database. Current University of Montana students and faculty and former CutBank staff are not eligible for the awards.


Montana Prize in Fiction Judge – Eileen Myles
Eileen Myles’ THE INFERNO/A POET’S NOVEL came out in October 2010, and THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING ICELAND (MIT Press, 2009) is a talkative prose collection in which she describes her travels and explores art criticism. She’s published more than 20 volumes of fiction, poetry, articles, plays and libretti including HELL (an opera with composer Michael Webster, 2004), SKIES (2001), ON MY WAY (2001), COOL FOR YOU (a novel, 2000), SCHOOL OF FISH (1997), MAXFIELD PARRISH (1995), NOT ME (1991) and CHELSEA GIRLS (stories, 1994). With Liz Kotz, she edited THE NEW FUCK YOU/ADVENTURES IN LESBIAN READING (Semiotext(e), 1995). Eileen conducted in 1992 an openly female write-in campaign for President of the United States. In the 80s, she was Artistic Director of St. Mark’s Poetry Project. In ’94 and again in 2007, Eileen toured with Sister Spit. She is a Professor Emeritus of writing at UCSD. In 2007, she received The Andy Warhol/Creative Capital art writing fellowship.

Montana Prize in Creative Nonfiction Judge – Thalia Field

Thalia Field’s recent book of interrelated story-essays, BIRD LOVERS, BACKYARD, joins her earlier POINT AND LINE, and INCARNATE:STORY MATERIAL from New Directions Press. She also recently released, A PRANK OF GEORGES (with Abigail Lang) from Essay Press, and has written a “performance-novel” ULULU (CLOWN SHRAPNEL), published by Coffee House. Thalia’s work has appeared in Tin House, Conjunctions, Ploughshares, Chicago Review, Seneca Review, Angelaki, and other journals. She is included in The Next American Essay, edited by John D’Agata, and considers the essay to be essentially a mode or register at home and in the lineage of any genre. Thalia teaches in the Literary Arts Program at Brown University.

Patricia Goedicke Prize in Poetry Judge – D. A. Powell

D. A. Powell’s most recent collections, COCKTAILS (2004) and CHRONIC (2009), were both chosen as finalists for the Publishing Triangle and National Book Critics Circle Awards. In 2010, Powell received the California Book Award, the Kingsley Tufts Prize in Poetry and the Northern California Book Award. A former Briggs-Copeland Lecturer in Poetry at Harvard University, Powell has taught at Columbia University, University of Iowa and New England College. He is currently the McGee Visiting Writer at Davidson College in North Carolina.

Submit to Cutbank Literary Journal:


The Quotable Call for Submissions

2 December 2010
The Quotable: The Quarterly Publication of Quotable Fiction seeks original, unpublished fiction (under 3,000 words), creative non-fiction (under 3,000 words), and artwork for it’s First Issue: The Fools Issue.

“The right to be a cussed fool is safe from all devices human,
It’s common (ez a gin’ral rule) to every critter born of woman.” -James Russell Lowell

Visit our website to submit and for additional information:

On the Danforth “Postcard” Fiction Writing Contest

2 December 2010

On the Danforth, the community magazine for Toronto’s Danforth neighbourhood, is holding a postcard story contest. The winning entry will receive a cash prize of $50 and will be published in the glossy, full-colour summer issue – which over 2000 people will read – as well as on the website.

Here’s the titular ‘postcard’ of the Danforth to be used as inspiration for the story. (It’s a vertical postcard, okay?)

– Open to everyone, no matter where you live

– 500 words or less, previously unpublished

Deadline: December 17, 2010

Visit the website for details: