Archive for February 4th, 2014


4 February 2014

The Georgia Theatre Conference (, the official theatre organization for the state of Georgia, is now taking submissions for its annual One Act New Play Competition. The competition is open writers inside and outside of Georgia. The Competition is hosted by the Professional Division of GTC. The winning play will receive a $250.00 prize and will also be performed as a staged reading at the Georgia Theatre Conference convention held in Columbus, GA, October 9-11, 2014.

Guidelines are listed below:

Entries will be accepted between March 1, 2014 and July 15, 2014.

One submission per playwright only. Play submissions must be one act in length.  Plays should be approximately 50 pages in length, with a running-time between 30 minutes and one hour, and limited to 10 or fewer characters.

Full length scripts, children’s plays, 10 Minute plays, and musicals are not accepted.

Plays must be unproduced (no professional productions) and unpublished. Plays that have gone through readings and workshops are acceptable.

Plays must be submitted by email attachment in Microsoft Word or PDF format:

§  Text in 11-12 point type and in plain font (e.g. Times New Roman)

§  Script must include page numbers at the bottom of each page

§  The author’s name should not appear anywhere in the script

§  Do not include resumes, playwright biographies, or history of the play

§  Send a separate title page with the author’s name and contact info.

Please email all entries to:


Assistant Professor

University of North Georgia

In association with the Gainesville Theatre Alliance

*There is no submission fee required for this competition.

$4800 top prize for short fiction in Writers’ Village Contest summer 2014

4 February 2014

$4800 is the top prize on offer for short fiction in the Writers’ Village International Short Fiction Award summer 2014. The second prize is £$800, third prize $400 and there are 15 runner up prizes of $80. The top 50 c0ntestants also gain a free critique of their stories, win or lose.

With $7200 in total prize values, the Writers’ Village award is one of the world’s largest short story competitions that welcomes new writers from anywhere in the English-speaking world.

Winners will be awarded the title ‘Winner, the Writers’ Village International Short Fiction Award summer 2014’ and see their work showcased online.

Any genre of prose fiction may be submitted up to 3000 words, except playscripts and poetry. Entries are welcomed worldwide. The fee is $24 and multiple entries are permitted. Deadline is midnight 30th June 2014. Entry rules plus all winning stories since 2009 can be found at: