The Thomas Morton Memorial Prize in Literary Excellence

6 April 2014
The Thomas Morton Memorial Prize in Literary Excellence is awarded to the single best submission in the respective categories of poetry and fiction. The prize is open for submissions each year from January 1st to September 30th through our online submissions manager. The judges for this year’s prize are Margaret Atwood (for poetry) and Zsuzsi Gartner (for fiction).
In addition to publication in Issue 27: Fall 2014, each winning author receives $1000 in addition to a prize pack of books, each valued at approximately $700.
This year’s growing list of donating presses includes:
  • BookThug
  • Brick Books
  • Chaudiere Books
  • Coach House Books
  • Cormorant Books
  • ECW Press
  • Freehand Books
  • Gaspereau Press
  • Goose Lane Editions
  • House of Anansi Press
  • Insomniac Press
  • Mansfield Press
  • The Porcupine’s Quill
All submissions must be in size 12, Times New Roman, Garamond, or Arial typefaces. Submissions must be in .doc or .rtf format. Each poetry submission is limited to four poems or four pages, whichever comes first. Each fiction submission must be double-spaced and must be no more than 8,000 words. Nevertheless, authors may submit multiple times in one or both fields.
Any submission that does not abide by the above guidelines will be rejected without refund.

Every submission to The Thomas Morton Memorial Prize must be accompanied by a PayPal donation of $15. If the name on your PayPal account differs from the name on your submission, please be sure to indicate this in the body of your submission or in your PayPal comments. Upon receipt of your donation and literary submission, you will receive a confirmation e-mail. Winning entries are announced in October, 2014.

More information can be found at:


%d bloggers like this: