The Bridport Prize 2016

14 May 2016

Deadline: Midnight (BST) on Sunday 31st May 2016

The mission of the Bridport Prize is to encourage emerging writers and promote literary excellence through its competition structure. The Prize was founded by Bridport Arts Centre in 1973 and has steadily grown in stature and prestige. Right from the start the competition attracted entries from all parts of the UK and from overseas.

One of the richest writing competitions in the UK, the Bridport Prize is open to all nationalities aged 16 years and over.

The poem and short story categories each have a first prize of £5,000, second prize £1,000 and third prize £500. An additional 10 supplementary prizes (for each category) of £50 each are awarded.

A new category for flash fiction with a prize of £1,000 was launched in 2010. There is a second prize of £500, 3rd prize of £250 and 3 supplementary prizes of £50.

In 2014 the Peggy Chapman-Andrews first novel award, named after the Prize’s founder, was launched (open to UK residents only).

The Dorset Award is a prize specifically for Dorset writers. Thanks to the sponsorship ofThe Book Shop of Bridport, £100 is awarded to the highest placed Dorset writer in the Bridport Prize each year.

Fay Weldon CBE, patron of the Bridport Prize, says “Mention the Bridport Prize and the eyes of writers everywhere light up. It’s not just the money – though that’s not to be sneezed at – it’s a prize really worth fighting for in terms of prestige and genuine literary accomplishment”

Entry Categories

All entries submitted can be on any subject, and written in any style or form.  However, organisers do not recommend poems or stories written for children.

Poems (entry fee £9.00)

Judge: Patience Agbabi

Line limit: 42 lines (no minimum). Title not included.

Entry fee:  £8 for each poem submitted.

Prizes: 1st £5,000, 2nd £1,000, 3rd £500 + Highly Commended 10 x £100

The top 4 poems are submitted to the Forward Prize for best single poem


Short Stories (entry fee £10.00)

Judge: Tessa Hadley

Word limit: 5,000 words (no minimum). Title not included.

Entry fee:  £9 for each short story submitted.

Prizes: 1st £5,000, 2nd £1,000, 3rd £500 + Highly Commended 10 x £100

The top winning stories, poems and flash fiction will be published in the Bridport Prize 2016 anthology

The winning stories and shortlist will be read by leading London literary agents with a view to representing writers

The top thirteen eligible stories are submitted to the BBC National Short Story Award(£15,000) and The Sunday Times EFG Private Bank Short Story Award (£30,000)


Flash Fiction (entry fee £8.00)

Judge: Tim Stevenson

Word limit: 250 words (no minimum). Title not included.

Entry fee:  £7 for each flash fiction submitted.

Prizes: 1st £1,000, 2nd £500, 3rd £250 + Highly Commended 3 x £100

What is flash fiction?

Flash fiction is a style of fictional literature of extreme brevity. There is no widely accepted definition of the length of the category. Some are as low as 250 words (such as ours), while others consider stories as long as a thousand words to be flash fiction.

Other names for flash fiction include sudden fiction, micro fiction, micro-story, short short, postcard fiction and short short story, though distinctions are sometimes drawn between some of these terms; for example, sometimes one-thousand words is considered the cut-off between “flash fiction” and the slightly longer short story “sudden fiction”. The terms “micro fiction” and “micro narrative” are sometimes defined as below 300 words.

Flash-fiction often contains the classic story elements: protagonist, conflict, obstacles or complications, and resolution. However, unlike a traditional short story, the limited word length often forces some of these elements to remain unwritten – that is, hinted at or implied in the written storyline.

Visit the website for details:

%d bloggers like this: