Archive for April 26th, 2018

Last Call! 2018 Gulf Coast Prizes in Fiction, Nonfiction, and Poetry

26 April 2018

We Are Now Accepting Entries for the
2018 Gulf Coast Prizes in Fiction, Nonfiction, and Poetry!

Deadline: May 1, 2018

Judges: Joshua Ferris,  Lacy M. Johnson, and Chen Chen

Entries for the Gulf Coast Prizes in Fiction and Nonfiction should be a single prose work not exceeding 7,000 words. Entrants for the Gulf Coast Prize in Poetry may submit up to five poems not exceeding 10 total pages in length. We will accept submissions both via Submittable and via postal mail. Entrants may submit more than once or in more than one genre, but each new entry must be accompanied by a separate $23 entry fee. 

Contest Guidelines for Online Submissions
–    Click here for online submissions accepted via Gulf Coast’s Submittable 
–    Submit your work as a single .doc, .docx, or .pdf file.
–    Only previously unpublished work will be considered.
–    The contest will be judged blindly, so please do not include your cover letter, your name, or any contact information in the uploaded document. This information should only be pasted in the “Comments” field.
–    Submittable accepts all major credit cards for the $23 entry fee, which includes a one-year subscription to Gulf Coast.

Contest Guidelines for Postal Mail Submissions
–    Only previously unpublished work will be considered.
–    Please address postal mail entries to:

          Gulf Coast
ATTN: Gulf Coast Prize in [Genre]
4800 Calhoun Road
Houston, TX 77204-3013

–    The contest will be judged blindly, so your contact information should appear only on your cover letter.
–    Please make the check for your $23 entry fee, which includes a one-year subscription to the print journal, payable to “Gulf Coast.”


Salamander 2018 Fiction Prize

26 April 2018

SUBMIT: May 1, 2018 through June 4, 2018

Salamander magazine will award cash prizes of $1,000 and $500 plus publication for the two best fiction stories. All entries will be considered for publication. All entries will be considered anonymously. Send no more than one story per entry. Each story must not exceed 30 double-spaced pages in 12 point font. Multiple entries are acceptable, provided that a separate reading fee is included with each entry. Contest reading fee includes a one-year subscription. There is a reading fee of $15, and all contest results will be posted on by August 1, 2018.

Judge: Molly Antopol
Molly Antopol’s debut story collection, The UnAmericans (W.W. Norton), won a National Book Foundation 5 Under 35 Award, the New York Public Library’s Young Lions Fiction Award, the French-American Prize, the Ribalow Prize and a California Book Award Silver Medal. The book was longlisted for the National Book Award and was a finalist the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize, the Barnes & Noble Discover Award, the National Jewish Book Award and the Sami Rohr Prize, among others. The book appeared on over a dozen “Best of 2014” lists and was published in seven countries. Her writing has appeared widely and won a 2015 O.Henry Prize. She’s the recipient of fellowships from the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard, the American Academy in Berlin and Stanford University, where she was a Wallace Stegner Fellow and has taught in their Creative Writing Program since 2008. She’s at work on a novel, which will also be published by Norton.

Submit Entries Online ( or by Mail to:
2018 Fiction Prize
Salamander/Suffolk University English Dept.
8 Ashburton Place
Boston, MA 02108

Visit the website for details on how to enter: