Posts Tagged ‘2013 SFWP Literary Awards Program’

2013 SFWP literary awards program

25 April 2013

SFWP literary awards program

Fiction Award Program deadline: July 15th, 2013.

Creative Nonfiction Award Program deadline: July 15th, 2013.

The 2013 Awards Programs are underway! Keep an eye on the blog and the Facebook page for updates. This years judges are David Morrell for fiction and Lee Gutkind for nonfiction.

The prize amounts this year will be: $1000 for the Grand Prize (one each for fiction and nonfiction), and two runner ups per category (a total of four), each of whom will receive $650. A total of $4600 in prizes. We will also be reviewing all entries for potential publication in 2014 via our press. Selected entries will receive a full worldwide print/ebook release.

What are we looking for?

All work will be eligible despite genre, form, or length. So we’ll take full length manuscripts, collections short or long, and excerpts. You can send a PDF galley of your work, or even the bound hardcopy book. We don’t care about what the big presses believe to be “marketable,” we want to see excellence in writing, no matter the form it takes. Find out more about eligibility!

First time here? What’s this all about?

Since 2000, the SFWP Literary Awards Program has recognized excellence in writing, judged by National Book Critics Circle Award-winner and NBA finalist Jayne Anne Phillips, two-time NEA fellow and Hemingway Award finalist Richard Currey, Granta “best novelist under 40″ and Guggenheim fellow Chris Offutt, popular essayist Ayun Halliday, Pulitzer prize-winner Robert Olen Butler, NPR’s “Voice of Books” Alan Cheuse, and the “Queen of the Zines,” Pagan Kennedy. In 2013, the judges are David Morrell and Lee Gutkind. (And, no, you do not have to live in Santa Fe. The program is open to everyone, everywhere in the world.)

Winning the Grand Prize for the Santa Fe Writers Project Literary Awards Program launched the best year of my professional life. SFWP is a first class organization, one that actually uses its program to promote writers.
K.L. Cook, author of Last Call and The Girl from Charnelle

Visit the website for details: