Posts Tagged ‘author Kevin O’Brien’

The FundsforWriters Killer Nashville Scholarship Giveaway – Deadline July 1, 2016‏

7 June 2016

Want to attend a conference but can’t afford the cost? 

Want to be around others who enjoy reading mystery and suspense? 

FundsforWriters, in partnership with 2016 Killer Nashville, is offering a scholarship to one lucky individual who wishes to hob-nob with other mystery enthusiasts for the three days of August 18-21, 2016 in Franklin, TN.

But wait, there’s more. Guess who will be the Guests of Honor at this shin-dig?

Besides so many other published and almost-published authors . . .besides a sea of mystery aficionados?

Janet Evanovich is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the
Stephanie Plum series, the Fox and O’Hare series with co-author Lee
Goldberg, the Lizzy and Diesel series, twelve romance novels, the
Alexandra Barnaby novels, the Troublemaker graphic novel, and
How I Write: Secrets of a Bestselling Author.

Before his thrillers landed him on The New York Times Bestseller list, Kevin O’Brien was a railroad inspector who worked all the live long day and wrote novels at night. His first thriller, The Next To Die (2001)
became a USA Today Bestseller. Then came The Last Victim (2005), which hit the New York Times Bestseller list and won the Spotted Owl Award for Best Pacific Northwest Mystery.

So, what does this scholarship include?

  • 3-day full registration for the conference ($300 value)
  • Agent/Editor Roundtable participation (free for you because you have a 3-day registration)
  • A free Network Lunch on Saturday with Guest of Honor Janet Evanovich ($45 value)
  • A free Breakout Session any of the three days ($15 value and only open to 3-day registrants)
  • A ticket to the Guest of Honor Dinner & Awards Banquet ($95 value)
  • $100 toward travel and transportation (issued by FundsforWriters to winner, not via Killer Nashville).
  • Total value $555

***NOTE: Conference does not include all costs of transportation or motel accommodations.
See Killer Nashville’s site for information on the special hotel rates for this conference.

So, how do you enter for a chance to win this opportunity?

  • Email with KILLER NASHVILLE SCHOLARSHIP in the subject.
  • Include name, address, phone, email, website/blog/Facebook (if applicable)
  • Explain what this scholarship means to you in 100-500 words.
  • Agree to write a 500-600-word piece for FundsforWriters within 30-days after the event,
    talking about the conference and how you benefited from the experience.
    Piece will also be considered for publication on the Killer Nashville site.
  • Winner selected based upon the quality of submission.

DEADLINE for entries is midnight (Eastern Time), on July 1, 2016. (Winner to be announced July 8, 2016.)

So, why is FundsforWriters sponsoring this contest?

  • Because C. Hope Clark is an avid mystery author and enthusiast and wants to share that joy.
  • Because C. Hope Clark believes every author ought to experience the thrill of a writing conference.
  • Because C. Hope Clark wants to give back to the readers of her mysteries.

Thanks . . . looking forward to your entries . . .


Direct any questions to

DISCLAIMER: C. Hope Clark reserves the complete right to make the final decision of winner, not to be disputed.
Article to be submitted upon return from the conference to be turned in no later than September 23, 2016 and will
not receive additional compensation. The scholarship is not transferable. If winner cannot attend,
C. Hope Clark/FundsforWriters reserves the right to give the scholarship to the runner-up on her choice in the contest., 140A Amicks Ferry Road #4, Chapin, SC 29036, USA