Posts Tagged ‘fiction prizes’

The Shenandoah Prize for Fiction

7 March 2014

Deadline: Monday, March 31, 2014

Genre: Fiction

Entry Fees: None

Prizes: $1,000 and feature on Shenandoah’s first online issue. All finalists are eligible for publication in Shenandoah.

Description: Open to short story submissions up to 1,000 words. Submit via regular mail between March 1 and March 31, 2014.

Contact Information:

Bevel Summers, Shenandoah, 17 Courthouse Square, Washington and Lee University, Lexington, VA 24450.



Montana Prize in Fiction

7 March 2014

Judged by Steve Almond

The Montana Prize in Fiction seeks to highlight work that showcases an authentic voice, a boldness of form, and a rejection of functional fixedness. The winner, chosen by a judge to be determined, will be featured in CutBank 81 and receive $500. All pieces will be considered for print publication. We look forward to reading your work!

Submissions deadline is March 15, 2014. Submissions are accepted through our online submission manager only. The $17 contest entry fee includes a one-year subscription to CutBank and covers the reading of a single submission in a single genre. Please send only a single work of no greater than 35 pages. Please submit only once per genre, though writers are permitted to submit in multiple genres.

 Include a short cover letter that mentions your address (where your subscription will be sent), phone number, and email address, as well as the title of your work. Please include the author’s name on the manuscript—names will be removed from the pool of submissions that goes before our contest judges. Current subscribers must submit the same $17 fee, and their CutBank subscriptions will be extended by one year. Simultaneous submissions are accepted, but please withdraw your submission via Submittable immediately should it be accepted elsewhere. We are unable to offer refunds.

Entrants will be notified of their submission status no later than May 15, 2014. One winner in each genre, as chosen by our guest judges, will receive a $500 award and publication in CutBank 81, our summer 2012 issue. Winners will be required to complete a W-9 form to receive payment. All manuscripts are considered for publication in CutBank. All rights to selected manuscripts revert to the author upon publication. The author grants their permission to have their work electronically archived as part of CutBank 81 in EBSCO International’s subscription-based research database. Current University of Montana students and faculty and former CutBank staff are not eligible for the awards.

Visit the website:

$4800 top prize for short fiction in Writers’ Village Contest summer 2014

4 February 2014

$4800 is the top prize on offer for short fiction in the Writers’ Village International Short Fiction Award summer 2014. The second prize is £$800, third prize $400 and there are 15 runner up prizes of $80. The top 50 c0ntestants also gain a free critique of their stories, win or lose.

With $7200 in total prize values, the Writers’ Village award is one of the world’s largest short story competitions that welcomes new writers from anywhere in the English-speaking world.

Winners will be awarded the title ‘Winner, the Writers’ Village International Short Fiction Award summer 2014’ and see their work showcased online.

Any genre of prose fiction may be submitted up to 3000 words, except playscripts and poetry. Entries are welcomed worldwide. The fee is $24 and multiple entries are permitted. Deadline is midnight 30th June 2014. Entry rules plus all winning stories since 2009 can be found at:

Marguerite McGlinn Prize for Fiction

8 June 2013

This annual national short fiction contest features a first place $2,000 cash award, and includes an invitation to an awards dinner on the campus of Rosemont College on Friday, October 11, 2013. New for 2013: a second place cash prizeof $500 and third place cash prize of $250. The winning stories will appear in the Fall 2013 print and online issue ofPhiladelphia Stories. The Marguerite McGlinn Prize for Fiction is made possible by the generous support of the McGlinn, Hansma, and Dry families.

Contest Submission Guidelines:

  • Submission period: EXTENDED DEADLINE TO JUNE 15, 2013.
  • Previously unpublished works of fiction up to 8,000 words.
  • Multiple submissions will be accepted for the contest only. Simultaneous submissions are also accepted, however, we must be notified immediately if your work is accepted elsewhere.
  • Only authors currently residing in the United States are eligible.
  • Submissions will only be accepted via the website.
  • There is a $10 reading fee for each story submitted.
  • All entrants will receive a complimentary one-year membership to Philadelphia Stories.
  • Winners will be announced by October 1, 2013.

Visit the website for details:


3 June 2013


DEADLINE: June 30, 2013
GENRE: Humour
DETAILS:  Write a bad opening line to a novel.  The sentence
shouldn’t be longer than 50 – 60 words.  All genres accepted.
Multiple entries accepted. All original and unpublished.
PRIZES:  a pittance

Last Call for Entries: Fish Short Story Prize 2012/13 (€3,000)

24 November 2012

Fish Short Story Prize 2012/13 (€3,000) 

CLOSES: 30 NOV 2012


Enter Online Here

Judge: Philip O’Ceallaigh will select the best ten stories for publication in the 2013 Fish Anthology.

Philip is the acclaimed author of two collections of short stories, Notes From a Turkish Whorehouse, and The Pleasant Light of Day. He is described by Joseph O’Connor as an author who is “touched by greatness.”

Closes: 30 November 2012

Word limit: 5,000. There is no restriction on theme or style, and the prize is open to writers from all countries who are writing in English.

Ten best stories published.

First Prize: €3,000, of which €1,000 is for travel to the launch of the Fish Anthology in July 2013 at the West Cork Literary Festival.

Second Prize: a week at the Anam Cara Writers Retreat in West Cork, plus €300.

Third prize: €300.

Online Entry fee: €20 (€10 subsequent entries). Online Entry. Once you register and enter online, you can login and check your entry(ies) at any time.

Results: announced on 17 March on the Fish website, and sent out in the newsletter.

Stories must not have been published previously, and must be eligible for publication in the 2013 Fish Anthology.

Stories cannot be altered or changed after they have been entered. Judging at all stages is anonymous. Names or addresses must not appear on the stories, but on a separate sheet if entering by post, or in the appropriate place if entering online.

Postal entries: €22 (€12 subsequent entries)

Address: Fish Publishing, Durrus, Bantry, Co. Cork, Ireland.

Roddy Doyle, Dermot Healy and Colum McCann are honorary patrons of the Fish Short Story Prize.

Full Details *