Posts Tagged ‘nonfiction prize’

The Annual Gulf Coast Prizes: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry

4 March 2014

Enter to win the annual Gulf Coast Prizes, judged by Andrea Barrett (Fiction), John D’Agata (Nonfiction), and Rachel Zucker (Poetry). Be sure to get your entries in before the March 15th, 2014 deadline!

The contest awards publication and $1,500 each to the best poem, essay, and short story, as well as $250 to two honorable mentions in each genre. The winners will appear in Gulf Coast 27.1, due out in Fall 2014, and all entries will be considered for paid publication on our website as Online Exclusives. To view past winners and judges, please visit here.

The entry fee includes a year-long subscription to Gulf Coast. The deadline for submissions is March 15, 2014. Click here for how to enter.

About the 2014 Gulf Coast Prize Judges

Andrea Barrett will judge the 2014 Gulf Coast Prize in Fiction. Andrea Barrett teaches writing at Williams College and lives in North Adams, Massachusetts, with her husband, photographer Barry Goldstein. She’s the author of six novels, most recently The Air We Breathe, and three collections of stories: Ship Fever, which received the 1996 National Book Award, Servants of the Map, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, and, most recently, Archangel.

John D’Agata will judge the 2014 Gulf Coast Prize in Nonfiction. John D’Agata is the author of a few books of nonfiction, including About a Mountain and Halls of Fame, and the editor of The Lost Origins of the Essay and The Next American Essay. He teaches creative writing at the University of Iowa, where he is the director of the Nonfiction Writing Program.

Rachel Zucker will judge the 2014 Gulf Coast Prize in Poetry. Rachel Zucker is the author of seven books, most recently, Home/Birth: a poemic (co-written with Arielle Greenberg) and Museum of Accidents. She lives in New York with her husband and their three sons and teaches at New York University.

Visit the website for details on how to enter: