Posts Tagged ‘published authors’

Nationally Known Authors Headline Fall 2013 Hillerman Writers Conference

15 May 2013



SANTA FE, NM –A handpicked faculty of award-winning published authors, who are also accomplished teachers, will headline the 2013 Tony Hillerman Writers Conference.

Established to honor author Tony Hillerman, the conference keeps Hillerman’s legacy alive and welcomes writers of all genres and abilities. The 2013 conference will be Nov. 7–9, 2013  in Santa Fe at the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza.

The event features faculty members such as:

·      Margaret Coel, award-winning author of the Wind River Mysteries and the Catherine McLeod Novels

·      Kirk Ellis, Emmy-award winning writer of the HBO mini-series John Adams

·      Craig Johnson, New York Times’ best-selling author of the Walt Longmire series that inspired the hit TV drama on A&E. His newest honor is The Rocky for the best mystery novel set in the west. His writing has also been honored with the Western Writers of America’s Spur Award; Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year, and Library Journal as the Best Mystery of the Year.

·      David Morrell, winner of the Bram Stoker Award for Best Novel and the ThrillerMaster Award from the International Thrillers Writers.

·      James McGrath Morris, recipient of two New Mexico Book Awards and the Eagleton-Waters Book Award for his biographies

·      Anne Hillerman, winner of the independent booksellers Mountains and Plains Book Award and first-place honors from the National Federation of Press Women

The conference features workshops on getting published and marketing books, as well as on the craft of writing. It opens with two half-day hands-on workshops for authors on “Perfect Plotting,” facilitated by Margaret Coel, and “Great Openings and Endings,” taught by James McGrath Morris.

The Tony Hillerman Writers Conference is intentionally designed as an intimate event, where writers have the opportunity to interact with and get feedback from faculty members and their fellow writers. “The small size of the conference enables students to interact informally with each other and our faculty at nightly book signings and during our flash critique session with thriller master David Morrell and literary agent Liz Trupin Pulli,” says Anne Hillerman.

“We’re also proud to offer an opportunity for our participants to talk about their work at the ‘New Book/New Author Breakfast’,” says conference co-founder Jean Schaumberg.

The Tony Hillerman Writer’s conference began in 2004. Tony Hillerman offered ideas and encouragement to Schaumberg and co-founder Anne Hillerman until his death in 2008. In selecting faculty, Hillerman and Schaumberg focus on highlighting the wealth of literary talent in New Mexico and the Southwest, of which Tony Hillerman was always a fan.       

For further details, please visit


Cinnamon Press Writing Awards – Poetry, Short Stories, Novel/Novella

29 October 2012

Cinnamon Press Writing  Awards

Cinnamon Press competitions have been offering new and established writers excellent publication opportunities for the last seven years. Several authors who have won the competition have gone on to win other prestigious prizes or been short listed for major awards. From autumn 2012 we are re-launching the writing awards to make them even more accessible to a greater number of writers. The competitions in three genres will continue to run twice a year, but with a new pricing structure and new prize structure. We hope that writers will continue to enjoy the competitions and take advantage of the opportunities they provide.


Poetry Collection Award £150

The aim of this award is to provide a platform for new voices in poetry.


Short Story Award: £150

The competition is open to new and published authors.


Novel / Novella Award £400

The aim of this award is to encourage new novelists, encouraging debut novel and novella writers to achieve a publication in this genre.


Guidelines for all Genres:

Entrants for the novel/novella and poetry categories should not previously have had a novel/novella or full poetry collection published (those with pamphlets and self published collections are eligible).
Short story writers may have previous publications of single stories or story collections or may be new writers, but the story submitted must be unpublished.
Entries should be submitted electronically – send as two email attachments – one with the work and the other with contact details – please ensure you have up to date virus protection and send as a .doc or .docx or .rtf file. (If you have problems preventing electronic submission please email for guidance)
Submit the first ten thousand words of your novel/novella or 10 poems up to 40 lines (unpublished) or story of 2,000-4,000 words (unpublished) in a clear type script, double spaced for prose.
Please mark your story/poetry/novel/la with a nom de plume and working title in the header (this is simply for reading purposes to guarantee that all pieces are read blind and judged fairly)
Do not put any other identification on the work, but enclose a separate attachment with name, address, email contact & nom de plume and titles of poems/working title of novel/story title.

Deadlines fall twice a year on 30th June & 30th November.

The next deadline is 30th November 2012.

Entry is £12 per entry for all categories. You can optionally add £4 to this to include a copy of the winners’ anthology for the poetry and short story categories, or a novel/la by a previous competition winner for the novel/la category (worth £8.99).
Payments can be made online at using PayPal.
Work will not be returned, so please keep a copy.


Visit the website for detail and enter at: