Posts Tagged ‘short fiction competitions’

The L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest

16 August 2013


Application Deadlines :  Quarterly – 31 December, 31 March, 30 June and 30 September

The L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest – Grand Prize is $5,000.00 – also quarterly prizes  (now in it’s 30th year) Worldwide competition – no age requirements:

The winners are published in the now famous anthology. We have launched the careers of 12 New York Times Bestselling authors. Also fly all yearly winners (12 people) – at our expense – to Los Angeles annually for workshop with famous writer judges. First prize of $1,000, a second of $750, and a third of $500 to new and amateur writers of science fiction or fantasy short stories or novelettes (under 12,000 words). The Contest has four quarters, beginning on October 1, January 1, April 1 and July 1. The year ends on September 30, every year. To be eligible for judging in its quarter, an entry must be postmarked or received electronically no later than midnight on the last day of the quarter. The quarterly first-place winners compete for an annual grand prize of $5,000. Submissions must be unpublished. Please check web site for more details

For Official Rules visit:

For questions e-mail:

Announcing the free The Character-Driven Tale Writing Contest

2 April 2013

The Character-Driven Tale contest is about writing great characters.  

To enter, submit a short story of under 3,000 words in which

the focus of the story is on the characters.

Acclaimed author David Corbett will judge the entries based on the richness,

uniqueness, and complexity of the characters you create.  

Entry is free

Deadline is April 30, 2013.

1st place receives a 50-page manuscript critique from David Corbett (worth $350), $100 in cash, and a copy of The Art of Character (Penguin).  2nd place receives $75 in cash and a copy of The Art of Character.  3rd place receives $50 in cash and a copy of The Art of Character.

The URL for the contest is:

You can find Scribophile at:

Prizes total $1360 in Writers’ Village story contest

4 November 2012

A first prize of $800 can be won in the winter round of the Writers’ Village contest

for short fiction up to 3000 words in any genre.

Second prize is $400, third is $160

and there are five runner-up prizes of a free entry in the next round.

Every story, win or lose, also gains a free critique –

a feature thought to be unique among low-fee writing contests.

Winning stories will be showcased at the site.

Fee is $19 per story.

Entries are welcomed worldwide.

Deadline is 31st December 2012.

Details at:

Address: Writers’ Village, The Old School House, Leighton Buzzard, LU7 9DP, UK.

$2,500 Awaits Winners of Lorian Hemingway Short Story Competition

29 October 2012

Writers of short fiction are encouraged to enter the 2013 Lorian Hemingway Short Story Competition. The competition has a thirty-one year history of literary excellence, and its organizers are dedicated to enthusiastically supporting the efforts and talent of emerging writers of short fiction whose voices have yet to be heard. Lorian Hemingway, granddaughter of Nobel laureate Ernest Hemingway, is the author of three critically acclaimed books: Walking into the River, Walk on Water, and A World Turned Over. Ms. Hemingway is the competition’s final judge.

Prizes and Publication:

The first-place winner will receive $1,500 and publication of his or her winning story in Cutthroat: A Journal of the Arts. The second – and third-place winners will receive $500 each. Honorable mentions will also be awarded to entrants whose work demonstrates promise. Cutthroat: A Journal of the Arts was founded by editor-in-chief Pamela Uschuk, winner of the 2010 American Book Award for her book Crazy Love: New Poems, and by poet William Pitt Root, Guggenheim Fellow and NEA recipient. The journal contains some of the finest contemporary fiction and poetry in print, and the Lorian Hemingway Short Story Competition is both proud and grateful to be associated with such a reputable publication.

Eligibility requirements for our 2013 competition are as follows:

What to submit:

• Stories must be original unpublished fiction, typed and double-spaced, and may not exceed 3,500 words in length. We have extended our word limit for the first time in thirty years to 3,500 words rather than 3,000. There are no theme or genre restrictions. Copyright remains property of the author.

Who may submit:

• The literary competition is open to all U.S. and international writers whose fiction has not appeared in a nationally distributed publication with a circulation of 5,000 or more. Writers who have been published by an online magazine or who have self-published will be considered on an individual basis.

Submission requirements:

• Submissions may be sent via regular mail or submitted online. Please visit our online submissions page for complete instructions regarding online submissions. Writers may submit multiple entries, but each must be accompanied by an entry fee and separate cover sheet. We do accept simultaneous submissions; however, the writer must notify us if a story is accepted for publication or wins an award prior to our July announcements. No entry confirmation will be given unless requested. No SASE is required. • The author’s name should not appear on the story. Our entrants are judged anonymously. Each story must be accompanied by a separate cover sheet with the writer’s name, complete mailing address, e-mail address, phone number, the title of the piece, and the word count. Manuscripts will not be returned. These requirements apply for online submissions as well.

Deadlines and Entry Fees:

• The entry fee is $15 for each story postmarked by May 1, 2013. The late entry fee is $20 for each story postmarked by May 15, 2012. We encourage you to enter by May 1 if at all possible, but please know that your story will still be accepted if you meet the later deadline. Entries postmarked after May 15, 2013 will not be accepted. Entries submitted online after May 15, 2013 will not be accepted. Writers may submit for the 2014 competition beginning May 16, 2013.

How to pay your entry fee:

• Entry fees submitted by mail with their accompanying stories may be paid — in U.S. funds — via a personal check, cashier’s check, or money order. Please make checks payable to LHSSC or The Lorian Hemingway Short Story Competition. Entry fees for online submissions may be paid with PayPal.

Announcement of Winners and Honorable Mentions:

Winners of our 2013 competition will be announced at the end of July 2013 in Key West, Florida, and posted on our website soon afterward. Only the first-place entrant will be notified personally. All entrants will receive a letter from Lorian Hemingway and a list of winners, either via regular mail or e-mail, by October 1, 2013. All manuscripts and their accompanying entry fees should be sent to The Lorian Hemingway Short Story Competition, P.O. Box 993, Key West, FL 33041 or submitted online. For more information, please explore this website or e-mail:

Visit the website for guidelines: